希望方案:模型說明

 

一,引言

 

第三世界國家的貧窮是世代相傳的,是社會所期望的,並且是廣泛傳播的。許多人認為它是那裡生活的必要和固定條件。

 

親愛的讀者,有誰會開始改變呢?有興趣的人問“現場探員”(他們對社區非常了解)(例如學校老師,商人,律師,銀行家等),建議來自貧困地區的人們,這些人具有獨特的洞察力,熱情和決心,如果有機會就可以成為企業家,然後有興趣的人會選擇一個很小的區域(可能只有200至600人)作為工作目標,他們將採訪該領域推薦的候選人特工,然後選擇大約24名特工開始創業培訓,他們將使用Epps博士準備的培訓大綱(Ph。D)進行為期6週的培訓。

 

在培訓之後,並在當地商業教練的幫助下,受訓人員將著手研究該領域的需求,並一開始很少開展營利性業務來滿足這一需求。也許將開始一些小生意。微型投資將來自進行培訓的感興趣的人或他們開發的其他來源。初始投資通常為200美元至600美元。當證明成功時,可以進行更大的投資。如果需要工人,他們將使用當地人的非熟練勞動力,而不是花哨的昂貴機器來增加啟動成本並減少人們的工作。這將通過兩種方式提高生活水平:1)通過提供滿足需求的物品或服務; 2)通過為當地人提供一些工作。這將增加工作數量,進而增加可用於支出的資金。它還要教給目標地區的家庭如何使用改良的耕種/園藝方法,以便他們能夠種植足夠的食物來養活自己並有更多的銷售餘地。如果即使只是在一個很小的目標區域內提高生活水平也會引起您的興趣,請閱讀更多內容。

 

這是一個基本問題:您如何協調經濟,使其成為能夠提供良好生活水平的強大經濟?最終歸結為:關注目標區域,調查現有條件,然後開發可用資源,關注非熟練本地勞動力,使用這些資源設計產品和服務,並促進它們的廣泛接受,使用和銷售。也許可以在目標區域之外的市場中創造需求。本質上,發現需要的地方,生產產品和服務來滿足現有資源和勞動力的需求,並為它們創造市場需求。

 

應鼓勵企業家開辦微型企業。貸款人應給予他們小額信貸。通過使用可持續的耕作/園藝方法來學習養活家人的技能,這種方法可以在很小的空間內收穫大量的糧食,從而消除了很多飢餓感。在建築,房屋建築,汽車和摩托車維修以及計算機行業中培訓失業者也是贏家。

 

在成功的商人(可能來自國外)具有相同生產活動經驗的指導下,將需要一些支持性投資者。需要有經驗的人來獲得政府許可證,執照和其他政府合規事項。這是不容忽視的。我們需要一些政府支持或具有政治影響力的朋友來支持該項目。它們可以減輕政府乾預的影響,甚至可能得到政府的支持。當我開始閱讀保羅·布林克利(Paul Brinkley)撰寫的《從戰線走向商店陣線:美國人重建對處於火中的國家的信任和希望》時,我正在思考這些問題和相關問題。請在下面查看我的經驗。

2.我的“啊哈!”時刻

 

我讀了保羅·布林克利(Paul Brinkley)的《 戰線至商店戰線 ……》,2014年,反复閱讀數天。有一次,我的下巴張開了。我放下書,只是凝視著窗外! “哦,親愛的上帝!”我彷佛驚呆了,等待著在我的喉嚨中形成這句話來表達那顆震撼地球的念頭,這是有史以來第一次,第一次湧入我的腦海……“噢,我的天哪!這意味著我們不再需要貧窮了!!我們可以在全世界範圍內做到這一點!布林克利(Brinkley)在伊拉克做到了-我們也可以在其他國家做到!發展中國家不再需要貧窮!”

我想:“ 選一個貧窮的國家,按照布林克利的解釋派遣一個小組,並拿出300萬美元作為種子資金。讓他們做什麼!在3到5年內,如果滿足適當的條件,曾經貧窮的國家將成為蓬勃發展的經濟單位! ”我頭上的一盞大燈熄滅了!我知道這將是我餘生的重要時刻。人類家庭的很大一部分痛苦可以得到緩解。我只是瞥見瞭如何做到這一點。

我已經讀到關於穆罕默德·尤努斯(Muhamad Yunus)博士在創建格萊bank銀行(Grameen bank)時所進行的令人振奮的工作,他們利用同伴團體的壓力和支持而不是使用實質性抵押來獲得貸款。我知道他們在90年代的還款率很高。他們成功地讓窮人獲得了信貸,這正在改善人們的生活。

我還讀過保羅·波拉克(Paul Polak)博士所做的有關使盈利的企業為窮人工作的工作,以使他們能夠擺脫每天一兩美元的收入,提高生活水平。小農戶佔世界人口的1/3,他們正在學習可持續的方法來賺錢。波拉克博士提出了令人信服的論點,即您不能擺脫貧困而捐贈窮人。在自由市場上工作的企業家精神是幫助窮人擺脫貧困的方式!窮人會購買負擔得起的設備。他們將努力為自己的家人賺取更多的錢,如果他們看到這將為他們帶來回報。

但是以我個人的經驗,直到我讀了保羅·布林克利先生在2006-2013年在伊拉克和阿富汗的所作所為,並在他的《 戰地至店面》一書中寫道,這件事才發生在我身上: 我們真的不知道一定要貧窮 !實際上,有一種非常真實的方式來結束它。我們只需要有這樣做的意願。哦,我的天哪……人類大家庭有希望的理由!

在前面的段落中,您將介紹建立在布林克利工作基礎上的“希望食譜”模型,該模型提供了兩種減少貧困的模型。一種模式是貧困國家的本地商人可以選擇目標區域並應用“希望的食譜”模型來顯著改變目標區域的生活水平的方式。然後可以在其國家/地區的其他目標區域中完成此操作,最後,該模型可以應用於整個國家/地區。第二個模型現在是我最喜歡的模型。企業家發現計劃。它直接面向窮人,並在為期6週的培訓課程中教他們如何成為企業家。然後,對它們進行少量投資即可開始。

世界確實可以改變,世代相傳和社會普遍接受的貧窮已成為過去。需要的是富有同情心的決心和領導才能,政治意願以及對既定經濟原則的明智運用。通過應用“希望的食譜”模型,我們可以帶走人類大家庭,走到人類從未有過的地方,到一個不存在普遍貧困的地方。

3.目標,消除貧困(80%)

 

目標是通過創造經濟條件來消除貧困(最終消除貧困至少80%或更多),使人們有更多的錢可以花,從而擺脫貧困而進入工人階級。

 

該模型的四個消除貧困的活動是:

 

  1. 宏觀活動側重於投資,創造就業機會以及市場分析/需求創造。

  2. 微型企業活動旨在協助具有企業家精神的人創辦微型企業。

  3. 可持續種植方法活動側重於小塊土地耕種和城市園藝。

  4. 技能培訓活動的重點是建築行業,汽車和摩托車維修以及計算機。

 

更大的目標是通過應用這四項活動來消除目標地區的貧困。較小的目標是使參與其中的企業主在振興目標地區的經濟時獲得利潤。他們不僅是計劃者,而且是行動者!他們建立的度量標準將使他們知道何時達到初次調查時消除目標區域中80%或更多貧困的目標。

消除所有貧困幾乎是不可能的。要測量一個數字是必需的。在“希望食譜”模型中,將“減少80%或更多的現有貧困”定義為“消除貧困”。理想情況下,將結束更多操作,但是減少80%可以證明該模型有效。

4.窮人和地緣政治

 

窮人往往沒有受過教育。他們通常在當前的經濟政治體系中幾乎沒有利益,因為他們沒有收穫任何回報。他們覺得自己在系統“之外”。他們可能不習慣批判性思維和客觀的政治分析。這使它們成為有惡意的人的獵物,或者至少容易被有惡意的人誤導和說服。如果該系統為他們提供就業並支持擁有足夠的金錢和食物來生活在貧困之上和之外,那麼他們將歸屬於該系統並希望保留該系統。他們不太可能加入那些想要拆除系統的人。僅此一點就足以使貧困國家的各級領導人認真考慮消除貧困和促進大多數公民的成功。

5.四個活動

 

消除貧困的“希望食譜”模型是全面的。它同時在一個目標區域建立所有四項活動;宏觀企業,微型企業,可持續農業/種植方式以及技能培訓-消除貧困的四種有效方法。同時介紹經濟階梯的“頂部”,“中間”和“底部”以及相關的工作培訓。

 

1)宏

 

宏觀活動的重點是就業,投資,新的和不斷擴展的市場,當然還包括世界和本地市場需求的大規模生產的商品和服務。這或多或少地仿照了保羅·布林克利(Paul Brinkley)在伊拉克和阿富汗所使用的方法,在那裡他負責使數千人恢復工作。從事此活動的人員將開發基於物質和人力資源確定以下方面的技能:1)世界和本地市場的需求,以及2)如何以具有成本效益的方式生產和交付產品和服務。

 

2)微型企業

 

微型企業活動的重點是鼓勵和協助具有創業技能的人創辦微型企業。一個例子是從房間的角落或房屋的門廊上出售美容產品。其他人則可能出售食物,衣服,開摩托車或養雞。有幾種至少部分相關的方法可供學習:小母牛國際組織,婦女幫助婦女組織,Kiva貸款,Kickstarter基金和Grameen銀行。還有Epps博士的企業家發現計劃,這是本文的重點。

鼓勵盈利的企業家擴大業務,並鼓勵他們在成立後使用互聯網眾籌資金擴大業務。

 

3)可持續農業/園藝方法

 

可持續的耕種/園藝方法(小地塊耕種和城市園藝)活動的重點是那些渴望養家糊口,出售任何額外收穫的人們,他們以健康食品的價格只佔商店購買食品成本的一小部分。他們願意學習如何養護植物和小動物。他們希望自己發展自己的財富,而不必為大多數人花費大部分收入來支付的錢付給他人。這對於城市和鄉村的人都是如此。他們學習如何生產食物,飼養小型牲畜以及保存他們生產的食物。有些人可能想用天然材料建造自己的小房子。一些實際的“城市宅基地”存在於大城市中的一個小城市地段,並提供了可以做什麼的模型。另一些是使用“城市園藝”種植的食物,在很小的地面上或在道路上的公共財產等上被忽視,因為它們很小。

互聯網上搜索“城市園藝”的例子非常有用。另外,請訪問Owen Geiger博士的博客,並使用搜索功能查找“城市花園”和“城市家園”以獲取有用的操作信息。最初,將需要缺乏經驗的人進行嚴格的培訓,以學習與可持續增長方法相關的技能,以生長和收穫地球所提供的東西。對於那些已經在小地塊農場工作的人,將減少培訓。可持續的方法(永續耕作)除了具有可持續性外,還減少了工作量,並產生了更健康的食品(無農藥)和更大的收成。他們將學習如何增加農作物的供水量,減少花在雜草上的時間,並通過高效的滴灌減少節水的“方法”並增加產量。他們將學習健康的土壤或覆蓋物對於增加豐收的重要性。每個人都可以學會做到這一點,即使他們所擁有的只是屋頂或很小的地塊。

 

4)技能訓練

 

在職培訓:專注於在建築行業,汽車和摩托車維修,計算機知識和掌握甚至維修方面進行培訓。為了在當今世界上賺錢,人們需要能夠使用計算機。此外,世界還需要更多的磚塊,砌塊,水管工,木匠,摩托車修理工和電工,這是第三世界國家/地區使用的建築行業和機械維修中的一切。將需要對建築行業和計算機領域的培訓,並應鼓勵在有此類工作的情況下進行培訓。需求因地區而異。

 

親愛的讀者們,這些都是通過某些方式使夢想成為現實的方式。如果有電話打給您,請回复。

RECIPE FOR HOPE: Description of the Model

 

I. Introduction

 

Poverty in third world countries is generational, socially expected, and wide spread.  It is seen by many as a necessary and fixed condition of life there.

 

How, dear reader, could anyone start to change that?  By an interested person asking “Field Agents”—people who know the community well (such as school teachers, business people, lawyers, bankers. etc.—to suggest names of  people from poverty areas who have that “special spark” of insight, enthusiasm, and determination, who could become entrepreneurs if given the chance.  Then that interested person would select a very small area (maybe as little as 200 to 600 people) in which to target their efforts. They would interview the candidates recommended by the Field Agents, and select the ones about 24 to begin the Entrepreneurial Training.  They would conduct the 6 week ends of training using the training syllabus prepared by Dr. Epps (ph. D).

After training, and with the help of local business coaches, the trainees would set to work to see what that area needed and start a, very little at first, for-profit business to fill that need. Perhaps several tiny businesses will be started. Micro investments would come from the interested person who conducted the training or from another source they develop.  Initial investments typically are from $200 to $600 USA dollars.  When success is demonstrated, larger investments can be made.  If workers are needed, they  would use the unskilled labor of locals rather than fancy expensive machines that increase start-up costs and eliminate people jobs.   This would raise the standard of living in two ways: 1) by providing the item or service that fills the need and 2) by providing some jobs for locals.  It would increase the number of jobs and that in turn would increase money available to spend.  It is also about teaching families in the target area how to use enhanced farming/gardening methods so they can grow enough food to feed themselves and have extra to sell.  If improving the standard of living in even one small target area intrigues you, read more.

 

Here is the basic question:  How do you orchestrate an economy to become a strong economy capable of providing a good standard of living?  Eventually it boils down to: focus on a target area, survey existing conditions, then develop available resources, focus on unskilled local labor, design products and services from those resources, and promote wide spread acceptance, use, and sale of them.   Perhaps demand can be created in markets beyond the boundaries of the target area.  Essentially, discover where there is a need, make products and services to fill those needs from resources and labor at hand and create a market demand for them. 

 

Entrepreneurs should be encouraged to start microbusinesses.  Lenders should grant them micro credit. Learning the skills to feed one’s family by using sustainable methods of farming/gardening that yield a huge harvest on very small spaces eliminates a lot of hunger. Training the jobless in construction, home building, car and motorcycle repair, and computer trades is a winner too.

A few supportive investors will be needed along with coaching from successful business people, perhaps from outside the country, with experience in the same production activity. Someone with experience  is needed to obtain government permits, licenses and other matters of government compliance.  This cannot be overlooked.  We need some friends in government, or with political clout, who support the project.  They can lessen the effect of government interference and possibly even get its support.  I was pondering these and related issues when I started reading War Front To Store Front: Americans Rebuilding Trust And Hope In Nations Under Fire, 2014, by Paul Brinkley.   See my experience below.

2. My “Ah Ha!” Moment

 

I had been reading Paul Brinkley’s, War Front To Store Front …., 2014, on and off for several days.  At one point, my jaw dropped open; I laid down the book and just stared out the window!  “Oh Dear God!”  I waited, as if stunned, for the words to form in my throat to express the earth shattering idea that had, for the first time ever, just flooded into my mind … “Oh my Goodness!  This means we don’t have to have poverty anymore!!  We can be doing this all over the world!  Brinkley did it in Iraq—we can do it in other countries too!  Developing countries no longer need to have poverty!”  
 
I thought, “Pick a poor country, send in a team as explained by Brinkley, and three million dollars for seed money.  Let them do what they do!  In 3 to 5 years, if proper conditions are met, the once poverty laden country will be a thriving economic unit!”  A big light had gone off in my head that would not go away!  I knew this would be a marked moment for the remainder of my life.  A large part of the human family’s suffering could be relieved.  And I had just glimpsed how it could be done.
 
I had already read about Dr. Muhamad Yunus’ exciting work founding Grameen bank and using peer group pressure and support rather than material collateral to secure loans.  I knew they had a percentage rate of repayment in the high nineties.  They were successfully allowing the very poor to have access to credit—and it was uplifting lives.
 
I had also read Dr. Paul Polak’s work on making profitable businesses work for the poor so they could lift themselves out of the dollar or two a day class and improve their standard of living. Small plot farmers, who make up 1/3 of the world’s population, were learning sustainable methods that earned them more money.  Dr. Polak made a convincing argument that you can not donate poor people out of poverty.  Entrepreneurial spirit at work in free markets is the way to help the poor get out of poverty!   Poor people will buy affordable equipment.  They will work to earn more money for their families if they can see that it will pay off for them.  
 
But in my personal experience, it was not until I read what Mr. Paul Brinkley did in Iraq and Afghanistan in 2006-2013, and wrote about in his book, War Front To Store Front,  that it occurred to me: we really do not have to have poverty!  There actually is a very real way to end it.  We just have to have the will to do it.  Oh my Goodness …the human family has reason to hope!
 
In the paragraphs ahead you will be introduced to the “Recipe For Hope” model that builds on Brinkley’s work and offers two models for poverty reduction.  One model is a way that local business people in poverty ridden countries can select target areas and apply the “Recipe For Hope” model to measurably change the standard of living in the target area.  Then it can be done in other target areas in their country, and finally, the model can be applied throughout an entire country. The second model is now my favorite one.  ENTRPRENEUR DISCOVERY PROGRAM. It goes to poor people directly and teaches them in a 6 week end training program how to become an entrepreneur.  Then it makes small investments in them to get them started.
 
The world really can change and widespread generational and socially accepted poverty can become a thing of the past.  What is needed is compassionate determination and leadership, political will, and savvy application of established economic principles. By applying the Recipe For Hope model, we can take the human family and go where humanity has never gone before—to a place where widespread poverty does not exist.

3. Goal, End Poverty (80%)

The goal is to End Poverty (ultimately ending at least 80% or more of it) by creating the economic conditions that enable people to have more money to spend and thereby move out of poverty into the working class. 

The four poverty-ending activities of the model are: 

 

  1. Macro activity focuses on investment, job creation, and market analysis/demand creation. 

  2. Microbusiness activity aims to assist people with entrepreneurial spirit to start microbusinesses.  

  3. Sustainable Growing Methods activity focuses on small plot farming and urban gardening.

  4. Skills Training activity focuses on building trades, car and motorcycle repair, and computers.

The greater goal is to end poverty in the target area by application of these 4 activities.  The lesser goal is for the participating business owners to earn a profit as they invigorate the target area’s economy.  They are not just planners—they are doers!  The metrics they establish will let them know when they have reached the goal of ending 80% or more of the poverty that existed in the target area when they did the initial survey.
 
It is nearly impossible to end ALL poverty.  For measuring a number is needed.  A reduction of “80% or more of the existing poverty” is operationally defined in the Recipe For Hope model as “ending poverty.”  Ideally more will be ended, but a reduction of 80% justifies declaring the model valid.

4. The Poor and Geopolitics 

 

The poor tend be uneducated.  They often have little stake in the current economic-political system because they are not reaping any of its rewards.  They feel they are “outside” of the system.  They may be unaccustomed to critical thinking and objective political analysis.  This makes them prey to, or at least easy to be misled and persuaded by persons of ill intent.  If the system provides them employment and supports having adequate money and food to live above and beyond poverty, they will be vested in the system and want to preserve it.  They will not be so likely to join those who want to tear down the system.  This alone makes it worthwhile for leaders at all levels in poor countries to give serious thought to ending poverty and promoting success for most of the citizens.

5. The Four Activities

The Recipe For Hope model to end poverty is comprehensive.  It establishes all four activities in one target area at the same time; macro business, microbusiness enterprises, and sustainable farming/growing methods, and skills training — four powerful approaches to end poverty.  The “top” “middle” and “bottom” of the economic ladder are addressed simultaneously along with relevant job training. 

 

1) Macro 

 

The Macro activity focuses on jobs, investment, new and expanding markets and of course larger scale production of goods and services in demand by world and local markets.  This is more or less modeled after Paul Brinkley’s approach used in Iraq and Afghanistan—where he was responsible for putting thousands back to work.  Those working in this activity will develop the skills for determining, based on physical and human resources, 1) WHAT is in demand on the world and local market and 2) HOW to produce and deliver products and services in a cost effective manner.     

 

2) Microbusiness 

 

The Microbusiness activity focuses on encouraging and assisting people with entrepreneurial skills to start micro businesses.  An example is selling beauty products from a corner of a room or the porch of their house. Others may sell food, clothes, operate a moto taxi, or raise chickens.  There are several at least partially relevant approaches to learn from:  Heifer International, Women Helping Women, Kiva loans, Kickstarter funding, and Grameen Bank.  And there is the Dr. Epps’ Entrepreneur Discovery Program which is the focus of this article. 
 
Profit generating entrepreneurs are encouraged to expand their businesses and are encouraged to use internet crowd funding to expand their operations after they are established. 

 

3) Sustainable Farming/Gardening Methods 

 

Sustainable Farming/Gardening Methods (Small plot farming and urban gardening) activity focuses on those with a strong desire to feed their families, and sell any extra harvest, with healthy food at a fraction of the cost of store bought food.  They are willing to learn how to tend plants and small animals.  They want to develop their wealth themselves, by not having to pay others for what most people spend a big portion of their incomes to obtain.  This is true for those in the city and in the country. They learn how to produce food, tend small livestock, and preserve food they produce.  Some may want to build their own small house out of natural materials.  Some actual “Urban Homesteads” exist on a small city lot in a large city and offer a model for what can be done.  Others are the growing food using “Urban Gardening”, on tiny pieces of ground or public property by roadways, etc., overlooked because they are so small.  
 
Internet searches for “Urban Gardening” yield helpful examples.  Also, go to the blog of Dr. Owen Geiger  and use the search function to find “urban gardens” and “urban homesteads” for helpful how-to information.  Initially intense training will be needed for inexperienced people to learn the skills associated with sustainable growing methods to grow and harvest what the earth has to offer.  Less training will be needed for those already working small plot farms.  Sustainable methods (permaculture), in addition to being sustainable, are less work and yield healthier foods (no pesticides) and larger harvests.  They will learn how to increase water supply for crops, spend less time pulling weeds and the “how-to”s of water saving and increasing production with highly effective drip irrigation.  They will learn the importance of healthy soil or mulch for growing abundant harvests.  Everyone can learn to do this, even if all they have is a roof top or very small plot of ground to plant. 

   

4) Skills Training

 

Training for jobs: focuses on setting up training in the building trades, car and motorcycle repair, and computer literacy and mastery and even repair.  In order to make money in today’s world, one needs to be able to use a computer.  Also, the world needs more brick and block-layers, plumbers, carpenters, motorcycle mechanics, and electricians—everything in the building trades and mechanical repair that are used in third world countries. Training in the areas of building trades and in computers will be needed and should be encouraged as jobs for such are available.  The needs will vary from one area to another.

These are some ways, dear reader, in which the dream can become the reality.  If it calls to you, please respond.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Google+ - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle

2018 Recipe For Hope - Dr. Jerry Dean Epps - all rights reserved